A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.

About International Standard IEEE 829

– IEEE 829 standard is also referred to as the 829 standard for the software and system test documentation.
– This IEEE standard has been created for specifying the form of the documents set that can be used in the 8 defined stages of the software testing life cycle.
– In each stage of the cycle, a separate type of document is produced.
– The format of the produced set of documents is also specified by the standard itself.
– However, it is not stipulated by the standard that all of these documents must be compulsorily produced.
– Also, this standard does not state any criteria in regard with what should be the content of those documents.
– Judgment regarding all these things has to be done outside the scope of the standard.

Below we mention the documents that have to be produced as per this standard and also what they should contain:
1. Test plan: This document is about the management planning of the testing cycle. It includes:

  • The methodology for testing the software include the configurations for the SUT i.e., system under test.
  • Who is supposed to do the testing?
  • Things to be tested.
  • Duration of the testing (this may vary from project to project).
  • Test coverage
  • The quality level required.
  • 2. Test design specifications: This document contains the details about the test conditions and the results that are expected as well as criteria for passing the test.

    3. Test case specification: This document contains all the data required for testing under the running test conditions that were identified in the previous document.

    4. Test procedure specification: This document gives detail regarding how each of the tests is to be run. It includes all the set – up preconditions and other steps that are required to be followed.

    5. Test item transmittal report: This is the report document containing the details about the progress of the software components that have been tested from one stage to the next.

    6. Test log: This document contains the details of the executed test cases and who executed them, in what order and what was the result i.e., whether they passed or failed?

    7. Test incident report:
    – This document contains the detail about the tests which reported a failure result.
    – It also contains the comparison between the actual and the expected result and other info that gives a clue as to why the particular test failed.
    – This document is required because there could be a number of reasons behind the discrepancy between the two results. – One reason can be that the expected results might be wrongly re-evaluated, or the test might have been executed in a wrong way.
    – The inconsistency of the requirements could mean that there can be a number of other interpretations.

    Test summary report:
    – This is the management report that contains any important information that could not be covered by the tests that were executed.
    – Apart from this, the report even contains report about the testing effort and its quality, quality of the SUT (i.e., system under test).
    – The incident reports reveal some statistics that are also included in this report.
    – The suggestions for improving future testing are also mentioned in this report.
    – As a whole this document indicates whether or not the system under test meets the acceptance criteria or not.

    There are a number of other standards that are referred while preparing the IEEE 829 documentation:

  • IEEE 1008 (unit testing standard)
  • IEEE 1012 (software verification and validation standard)
  • IEEE 1028 (software inspections standard)
  • IEEE 1044 -1 (software anomalies classification guide)
  • IEEE 1061 (software quality metrics and methodology standard)
  • IEEE 730 (software quality assurance standard)
  • IEEE 830 (system requirements specifications development guide)
  • IEEE 12207 (software life cycle standard)
  • The ISEB foundation and practitioner certificate in software testing has included this standard as a part of its syllabus.

    Leave a Reply

    You can use these HTML tags

    <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>