A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.

What are the types of non-functional testing?

Non-functional testing describes itself as the testing of the software’s non-functional requirements. In most of the cases, the names of the various non-functional tests might be used interchangeably since their scopes overlap between various requirements.

Types of Non-Functional Testing

1. Compatibility Testing:
This type of testing determines up to what extent the system under test is compatible with the environment in which it is being operated.

2. Load Testing:
This type of non – functional testing involves putting demands on the system under testing. The response of the system is then measured. The response of the system is measured under both anticipated peak load and normal conditions.

3. Performance Testing:
This testing checks how the system performs under various conditions in regard to stability, responsiveness and so on.

4. Recovery Testing:
– This type of non – functionality tests the capability of the system under test of recovering from the hardware failures or crashes and other problems.
– Here, the system under testing is forced to fail in different ways for verification of whether the system is recovering properly or not.
– This testing is often confused with reliability testing.
– It also checks how fast the system is able to recover.
– The requirement specifications define the extent of the recovery of the software.

5. Security Testing:
– This testing as its name suggests is concerned with the security issues of the system.
– It determines whether or not the system is capable of protecting the information and data.
– It also checks for the maintenance of the functionality.
– There are six major security concepts including integrity, confidentiality, authentication, authorization, non – repudiation and availability.
– Security testing taxonomy is also a part of the security testing which provides a base level upon which we can work towards understanding various approaches.

6. Scalability Testing:
– This type of non – functional testing involves testing the system under test or SUT for how much capable of scaling up or scaling out in regard with its various non – functional capabilities.
– It does not matter if it is data volume, user load supported or number of transactions etc.
– SOASTA is one of the most commonly used tool for scalability testing.

7. Stress Testing:
– It is a sort of thorough or intense testing that is used for testing the stability of the entity or the system under test.
– It involves putting stress or you can say the applications are tested beyond their typical usage capacity.
– The testing process extends to a break point where the results can be observed.
– There are 4 major reasons for carrying out stress testing:
(i) for the determination of the safe usage limits.
(ii) for confirmation of the standards.
(iii) for determination of the reasons for the failure of the system.
(iv) for testing the system beyond standards.

8. Usability Testing:
– This testing is commonly used in the user- centered interaction designs.
– The evaluation of the product is done by testing them on the targeted users.
– With this testing methodology, direct input on the real usage of the system by the users can be obtained.
– Usability testing is entirely different from the usability inspection.
– In user inspection, the real users are not involved in the testing process.

9. Volume Testing:
– This type of non – functional involves testing of the software with a specific amount of data where the amount or the volume can be the interface file’s size or the size of the database.
– This file or the database is the one that has been chosen for the volume testing.

  • Baseline testing
  • Compliance testing
  • Documentation testing
  • Endurance testing
  • Localization testing
  • Internationalization testing
  • Resilience testing
  • Out of the above, the software quality analysts only consider the scalability, reliability and performance.

    Leave a Reply

    You can use these HTML tags

    <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>